Why I Don’t Go to Adult Sunday School

January 30, 2014 at 5:25 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

1. Even though I can make it to work on time, get my kids up and dressed in time for school during the week, and be early enough to have time to buy popcorn and snacks when I go to the movies, there is no way I can get up, get the whole family dressed, and be on time for Sunday School on Sunday mornings.

2. The teacher keeps inviting me to class, which makes me feel embarrassed, so I’m not going.

3. The teacher doesn’t invite me often enough, which makes me feel unwanted, so I’m not going.

4. Even though the systematic study of the Bible with other believers in a local New Testament church is necessary for spiritual growth, that doesn’t apply to me. Because I’m special like that.

5. I’m really tired from having fun on Saturday, and having fun on Saturday is way more important than Sunday School – just like Jesus never said.

6. I’ve already been saved and baptized, so obedience to God is no longer necessary – just like Jesus never said.

7. It’s okay if I stay home and watch a church program on television – just like Jesus never said.

8. Even though the Bible clearly tells me that I need to attend, I’m waiting on some mystical, non-specific, open-to-my-personal-interpretation sign from God that He wants me to go. In other words, God hasn’t “laid it on my heart” to go to Sunday School.

9. If I went to Sunday School I just know I would feel “judged.” And, boy, do I hate feeling judged.

10. There would be some hypocrites in the class I’m supposed to join, and I prefer to go to places where there are no hypocrites present – like Wal-Mart – and the mall – and sporting events – and family reunions – and my workplace.

If you have read this far, you will note that I did not include the following excuses:

1. I had to work.
2. Personal illness or illness in my family.
3. Traveling out of town this week.
4. Car wouldn’t start.
5. Home or family emergency.

These are actually reasons, not excuses, and, therefore, if you have a valid reason for not attending adult Sunday School, this post was not really directed at you.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Truth! Thanks for boldly speaking the Truth in love.

  2. Thanks for the support!

  3. […] you imagine if Christianity required taking a vow of hunger? How would we get people to come to Sunday School without […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

