Professing Atheists Are Incapable of Being “Good”

February 24, 2009 at 12:31 pm | Posted in ProfessingAtheists | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Professing Atheist: Of course intelligent atheists read scripture, just like intelligent believers do. How else are atheists to debate with believers if not from a position of knowledge? I was a fundamentalist once, so I know how things look from where you are.

Christian: I am always encouraged when people read the Bible, so I appreciate your comment. I’m not sure if I’m a “fundamentalist.” We might disagree on what that term means. If it means trying to obey the fundamental principles of the Bible, and agreeing with many of the traditional fundamental tenets of the Christian faith, then I suppose you could call me a “fundamentalist.”

But it seems unlikely that you know what things look like to me, because I am holding fast to the Bible as the inspired Word of God (Hebrews 4:14; 10:23; II Timothy 1:13). I do not mean this to be insulting, but it appears that you did not “hold fast” to the fundamentals of the Christian faith, and they have slipped from your hands.

Professing Atheist: You challenge me to continue reading scripture. I will. Similarly, I challenge you to read the books written by Dawkins, Hitchens and others, so that you can understand for yourself where atheism is coming from. When I hear Bach’s St. Matthew Passion, the music invariably moves me to tears, even though it’s now about 629 times that I have heard it, and even though I reject the Holy Spirit (yes, you read that right).

Christian: You might profess to having rejected the Holy Spirit, but whether the Holy Spirit is still dealing with you is up to God, not you. (Genesis 6:3; Romans 9:18)

Professing Atheist: Atheists do not have horns. We help old ladies across the road. We have loving and happy families. We do good because it is simply better for us all.

Christian: I am also glad you help elderly ladies cross the street. Many Christians do likewise, and then afterward offer to share the Gospel message with them. If they refuse to hear it, they help them cross again next time, anyway. Perhaps you give them a copy of a Hitchens or Dawkins book, perhaps not – I have no way of knowing. But there will come a day when many of the works which “seemed” good to men will be tried by fire, only to be burned up as hay, wood, and stubble. Some of the works of Christians, which were thought to be nothing more than debating techniques, will have eternal value, and will last. (I Corinthians 3:11-14)

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Try To Allay Their Fears Professing Atheists Understand More of the Bible Than They Want To Admit Professing Atheists Are Incapable of Being “Good” Professing Atheists Conveniently Pick and Choose Their Own “Morality” Professing […]

  2. […] are blind to spiritual truth. Therefore, they grope about in the dark, and come up with this plan: “I will do enough good things to make up for my bad things, and God will be […]


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

