Professing Atheists Despise the Idea of Answering to Their Creator

May 7, 2009 at 11:00 am | Posted in ProfessingAtheists | 8 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Professing Atheist: Super – the furher gets to make his own rules – why am I not surprised? There goes objective morality.

God is perfect and yet I can be better than him (look, I’m saving kids from burning to death… and God appears to be doing, er nothing?)

Christian: If the fuhrer had God’s power, that WOULD be horrifying, but you are having difficulty because you are too limited in your thinking. There is no danger of God being unjust like the fuhrer. I John 1:5: “This then is the message which we have heard of him, and declare unto you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all.”

Professing atheists have such a hard time facing reality. When God, in His absolute sovereignty, uses a human instrument or divine providence to save a child from burning to death, they complain because they believe He didn’t save them all. Once again, proving the point: Professed atheism = Willful hatred of God because He can’t be fully explained by the finite mind.

Professing Atheist: Design argument. God did it isn’t an answer, dude – it merely begs the question. It is a bit like saying “the tea pot did it.” How? “It is a magic tea pot.”

Christian: The professing atheist hates God partly because he/she wants to be a little god himself/herself. He/she says, “I’m a little teapot, short (short-sighted – Mark 8:36), and stout (stiffnecked – Acts 7:51), here is my handle (the idol of false intellect which has hands but handles not – Psalm 115:4-7), here is my spout (spouting off uselessly in unbelief – Matthew 6:7), tip me over, and pour me out (his mouth pouring out foolishness – Proverbs 15:2 – and, ultimately, unless he/she receives the gift of God’s salvation by faith, being poured upon – Revelation 16:1).

Professing Atheist: In today’s radio broadcast Big Brother assured the nation that he was indeed a paragon of goodness. He assured his audience that there was no evidence to the contrary, and that if they found any their senses were deceiving them.

Remember – have faith in the party, faith in the cause, faith in the people, and above all faith in Big Brother.

Christian: One day, Jesus of Nazareth stood up in a busy corner of the marketplaces of Capernaum. People were rushing to and fro, not in an imaginary totalitarian society, but in a real time and place where they could be put to death for speaking out against Rome.

This Jesus began to speak openly, and He said a remarkable thing. “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28) Well over one thousand nine hundred eighty-four years later, those words still ring true.

Professing atheists would like to portray themselves as people who are being oppressed by Christians, but, in reality, they live in such freedom from persecution, that they have to actually seek out Christians who will “force” the truth of Scripture upon them.

Only the Lord knows what was truly on George Orwell’s heart when he died, but history records that his two main concerns were that he be buried near a church and that his body not be cremated. One wonders if he would have had such misplaced anxiety if he had accepted the invitation which followed Jesus’s pronouncement: “Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-29

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. “Professing atheists would like to portray themselves as people who are being oppressed by Christians, but, in reality, they live in such freedom from persecution, that they have to actually seek out Christians who will “force” the truth of Scripture upon them.”

    Oh how true this is! I had been seeking God on this very thing this morning. I so badly want to share Christ with others but don’t want to scare them off either as a fanatic. But then I think, am I fully trusting in the work of the Holy Spirt? I need God to really teach me how to evangelize with Grace and Love for the lost. But then I think, well, so what if they see me as a fanatic, a Jesus freak? Am I watering down my faith and my witness by trying to be gentle; because the Bible does tell us to approach non-believers with gentleness and wisdom from God. I really struggle with this and would love your imput if you’d be so kind. Robin

  2. Thank you for your comment, Robin. I hardly ever get a “nice” comment on the professing atheist posts. One of the bright spots of my week is checking out your blog. You always have good posts.

    I hope you don’t mind, but I think I’ll try to use your comment, and give you some input, as the subject of my next post.

  3. “Hello, Ditch-che!”

    Ditch-che turned to see the newcomer.

    Professing Atheist: Hey Dad!

    “Hey kiddo!” Ubiquitous Che laughed and swept up his son in his arms, tussling his hair affectionately. “How you doing?”

    Professing Atheist: Not so good, Dad.

    Che’s brow furrowed. “Why not?”

    Little Ditch-che sniffled, and wiped away some snot.

    Professing Atheist: mumblesomethingmutter *sniff*

    “What was that?” Che asked. “C’mon kiddo, you know you can tell me anything.”

    Professing Atheist: Christian is picking on me.

    “What!” Che responded incredulously. “I’m incredulous!”

    Professing Atheist: Christians are big meanies. Are they all like that?

    Che shook his head. “No, of course not! Some of them are – especially fabricated ones – but most of them are fine.”

    Professing Atheist: But you’re an atheist daddy. Doesn’t that mean you think they’re all stupid or something? And that I should think so too?

    Che smiled, and sat cross-legged on the floor, his son in his arms. “Of course not, kiddo. Look, some Christians are a bit silly. Not all of them, though. And some atheists are silly too. You have to judge the person as an individual. You can’t go throwing labels around like that. People are too complicated for that.”

    Ditch-che nodded.

    Professing Atheist: I guess…

    “And another thing, little guy. You don’t have to be an atheist just because I am. You should only adopt a worldview once you’re really ready for it – when you’re old enough to really know what you think. It would be child abuse for me to indoctrinate you like that. Remember: There’s no such thing as a religious child, and there’s no such thing as an atheist child. You choose when you’re ready, kay?”

    Professing Atheist: Kay!

    Che chuckled, and giggled Ditch-che on his knee. “Feeling better already, little guy?

    Ditch-che giggled.

    Professing Atheist: Yep! Thanks Dad!

    Che lowered Ditch-che to the ground as he stood. “Right-o. You’re an easily pleased little sprog, ain’tcha?”

    Ditch-che’s eyes glittered, and the child laughed.

    Professing Atheist: Well… Sometimes.

    “Right,” Ubiquitous Che responded, becoming serious. “Why don’t you head over to the Fantasy Playground for a while? Daddy’s going to try and sort out your little bullying problem.”

    Professing Athiest: Kay. Will anyone else be there?

    “Hmm,” Che stroked his chin. “Actually, I think if you hurry you’ll find Ditchkins and Simplicio waiting for you. Wanna go play with your cousins!”

    Ditch-che’s eyes lit up and he jumped to his feet.

    Professing Atheist: Awesome!

    Ubiquitous Che watched his son rush off into the distance. The smile fell from his face, and he turned to take a few steps towards Christian.

    Christian: Hang on… This wasn’t on the script.

    Che shook his head. “Of course it wasn’t. I don’t do scripts. I prefer reality.”

    Christian: But you’re not meant to do this. I’m Missionary Addict’s rhetorical ploy! You can’t use me!

    “You know, I could if I wanted too. It’s my reply, after all: I can write what I like.”

    The bully’s eyes grew fearful, and Che sighed. “Don’t worry, kid. I’m not gonna pick on you like that. I’m bigger than that. I know your father only put you up to picking on my kid anyway.”

    Christian glowered.

    Christian: Hey! Don’t you say that about my Dad!

    Che shrugged. “Hey, it’s true. He did.”

    Christian rushed forwards, his little fists flailing. He came up short – Che gently placed his hand on the top of his head. He swung his fists hard and fast, but couldn’t connect. Pantling slightly, he took a few steps back.

    “Don’t look at me like all resentful like that,” Che responded. “Look, you can’t fight me directly, little guy. You might get to pick on other kids when you’re playing in your Dad’s yard – but you don’t get that kind of power with me, m’kay?”

    Christian:

    (deleted)!

    “That wasn’t very Christian of you, Christian.

    Christian:

    I don’t care! I’m going home – I’m gonna tell my daddy on you! Then you’ll see.

    “Actually, that’s entirely the point,” Che responded. “Do you want to go play nice with the other constructs? Ditch-che is having a good time with his cousins. You could join them if you like – you’re family of a sort, after all.”

    Christian:

    Laughing, Che held up his hand – thumb presed to his middle finger. “Well, I was going to wink you out of existence, but if you wouldn’t rather go play…”

    Christian looked down and traced a pattern in the dirt with one foot.

    “Christian?” Che asked, straining finger against thumb.

    Christian: Yeah… Yeah, okay. I’ll go play with the others. I guess.

    “I somehow thought you would,” Che replied. “And don’t try and pick on all three of them at once. They outnumber you, now.”

    Christian: Yeah. Right. Whatever.

    Che grinned as Christian wandered off. “Play nice!” he called out.

    He then turned to Christian’s father…

    Ministry Addict… You’ve got real, actual atheists to argue with. We say real things, and hold real opinions. Going off and inventing responses from what you perceive atheists to think… That’s actually kinda low, don’t you think? It’s almost as if I had turned around and made Christian say something like: “Man teh slaves is awesum coz’ my Bible tells me so!”

    Christian: Hey! I heard that! Don’t even think about it!

    Alright alright! It was just an example! Geez… Don’t get your knickers in a twist.

    Anyway; Addict. You’re just caricaturing the position of atheists. You’re not addressing the position of atheists at all. I’m not even really sure what you’re trying to achieve, here – but whatever it is, you’re just making yourself look foolish. Sometimes there’s a need for a Simplicio. But there are elegant ways of handling one of Simplicio’s brothers… And then there are non-so-elegant ways. You’ve chosen the baser path, and it doesn’t suit you.

    Additionally, you’ve misunderstood the nature of the real arguments that you mangled up when you spoke it through Ditch-che’s lips. In regards to the problem of suffering (Theodicy), you’ve still got it all wrong.

    It isn’t that atheists secretly hate God for allowing pointless suffering to exist, but we take it out on Him by professing an atheism when secretly we believe in Him with all our black, wicked little hearts. I’ve considered that very carefully. I’m a bit closer to my heart than you – I think that of the two of us, we should be trusting my divinations of that particular organ-as-a-metaphor-for-emotion, thankyouverymuch.

    To the contrary: For the most part (I cannot speak to all), atheism is just the noises that reaonable people make when we are:
    1. presented with the claim that an all-powerful, all-loving God exists
    2. compare that claim objectively against reality, and
    3. find that claim to be ridiculous.

    That’s all.

  4. You state: “You’ve got real, actual atheists to argue with. We say real things, and hold real opinions.”

    No, I’ve got real professing atheists who want to argue, but I’m not arguing, remember? I’m proclaiming Truth. You can argue if you want. I don’t mind. As long as you keep getting your regular doses of Biblical Truth. God’s Word often has an amazing transformative effect. One day the scales might fall from your eyes so that you can see the Truth.

    You state: “Going off and inventing responses from what you perceive atheists to think… That’s actually kinda low, don’t you think?”

    The responses in my posts aren’t invented. They are actual quotes from real actual professing atheists. You called one of them “stupid,” remember? However, even if I had invented them, it’s not “low” to invent dialogue. Much fiction, even though it’s made-up, still makes a point, or at least entertains. Do you now think it was “low” of you to call the professing atheist “stupid” as you did in an earlier comment? What is your standard for “low?” Unfair? Dishonest? Immoral? It’s a good thing you don’t believe in a Creator who sets standards of “high” and “low” for your own behavior. You might be in trouble with Him, and need a Savior. I’m here to help if you need more Biblical answers, and that is not intended as sarcasm.

    You state: “It isn’t that atheists secretly hate God for allowing pointless suffering to exist, but we take it out on Him by professing an atheism when secretly we believe in Him with all our black, wicked little hearts. I’ve considered that very carefully. I’m a bit closer to my heart than you – I think that of the two of us, we should be trusting my divinations of that particular organ-as-a-metaphor-for-emotion, thankyouverymuch.”

    Look who’s generalizing. (Shame, shame) Professing atheists do secretly hate God, but not for allowing pointless suffering. They hate God because He is good and they are wicked. He is Light, and they love darkness. They often use the allegedly pointless suffering ploy as a debating tactic to change the focus when things get hot. You are not really convinced that you have a “black, wicked heart,” but one day you will be. You think you know your heart better than me, but that’s a no-brainer. God knows your heart and mine better than either of us. “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?” (Jeremiah 17:9) You like rhetoric; there’s a rhetorical question. (Who can know it? Of course, only God can know it!) There are some deceitful beings in this universe, but unregenerate human hearts have them all beat. And “desperately wicked” is more than just “wicked.” Desperation leads to even denying that your own Creator exists, when He’s the only One Who can help you.

    You state: “Most educated believers I know accept that the problem of Theodicy pretty much refutes a deity with omnipotence, omnibenevolence, and omniscience.”

    Since you are fond of professing your own false ideas of “evaluation,” perhaps you should evaluate the “most” and the “pretty much,” and find another, more consistent set of Christian believers to hang around. There is nothing about God’s omnipotence or omnibenevolence that limits Him from exerting His power on behalf of creatures who have chosen sin, rebellion, and self-worship, over the Truth. All things work together for good to those who love Him, and are the called according to His purpose. (Romans 8:28) God is rightfully just and holy. What you consider “rational discussion” is simply the inherited, inveterate replay of the lies of your spiritual forbears: Satan (“Yea, hath God said?” Genesis 3:1; and Pilate “What is truth?” John 18:38)
    You are more comfortable with what you think is “rational discussion,” because you believe it will soothe the pain of the Truth. It will not. God has revealed Truth. He is not impotently wishing people would “evaluate” Him.

    Christian: Hey, kid, what are you doing?”

    Oblivious Che: I’m playing with a pink unicorn.

    Christian: Say, uh, Ubiquitous Che, is that your son walking across the parking lot toward a busy highway, tossing a little toy pink unicorn up and down as he walks?

    Ubiquitous Che: Sure is. I’m awfully proud of Him… I mean, him.

    Christian: Don’t you think you should stop him?

    Ubiquitous Che: Hold on, now! Don’t tell me what to do! Mind your own business. My son has freedom to choose for himself how to act, where to walk, and what to think about… Christian…? Where are you racing off to at full speed?

    Oblivious Che: Wah! Wah! Dadeeeeee! Mean old Christian ran across the parking lot, and tackled me with a full-body flying tackle, and knocked me into this ditch full of overgrown weeds and broken bottles that borders this busy highway! He even made me scrape my knee! Couldn’t he tell I was ignoring him on purpose because I wanted to stroll nonchalantly in front of a speeding diesel rig?

    Ubiquitous Che: My son’s right, Christian! You’re trying to indoctrinate my boy! That’s child abuse!

  5. […] Atheists Are Angry at God Professing Atheists Pretend They Would Like God If He Could Be Controlled Professing Atheists Despise the Idea of Answering To Their Creator Acting Like We’ve Been […]

  6. […] not going to look foolish, staring at a snake on a pole.” Some didn’t look because of unbelief: “There’s no way it could be that simple – I’m strong – I can beat this poison on my […]

  7. […] idols. Wasting time is wrong, although many people think it’s harmless. Idols, even though they can’t talk, have a way of “speaking” lies. The “wisdom” of man – found in TV […]

  8. […] then we apply our understanding of His power to do just that (which He often does), and then we are upset because He doesn’t it all the time. Our challenge instead is to be grateful He has the power to overrule the consequences of our own […]


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

