The Elevator to Heaven

November 28, 2009 at 11:51 am | Posted in Salvation | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Most people know how elevators work. We know what they do, where they are found, and how to get inside them. When we stand in the lobby of a building, and see the elevator door, we “believe in” that elevator. We know that it can take us to the top of the building. But do we really have “faith” in the elevator? I don’t really place my trust in an elevator until the doors slide open and I actually step inside. Once I’m inside, then I have faith in that elevator. If it goes up, I’m going up. If it goes down, I’m going down. I am then fully depending on that elevator to take me all the way up to my destination.

Jesus Christ is the only Elevator that can take you to Heaven (John 14:6). There are no stairs you can climb, and no other way up. Maybe you know “about” Jesus. You have heard that He was born in a stable, that He grew up with Mary and Joseph, that He was a great teacher, and that He did miracles. You may have even heard that He never sinned, and that people say He was the Son of God. If I told you that the Bible says that He was crucified, buried, and rose again, you would nod your head in agreement (I Corinthians 15:3-4).

But have you ever stepped into the Elevator which is Christ the Lord? Have you placed all your trust in Him? Have you ever admitted that you cannot get to Heaven on your own, because your sin has separated you from God? If not, He is calling you now to place your faith and your trust fully in Him, to believe not just that He died, but that He died for your sins. It’s not enough to know about Jesus – you must come to Him and know Him personally.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] politicians and our political system, I can’t think of any place I would rather live (except Heaven, of […]

  2. […] hypocrisy, our failure to love the God Who gives us the air we breathe with our whole heart – because of those sins and many more – we need the one and only Savior there is: the Lord Jesus Christ – so […]


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

