The Everlasting Anointing

February 11, 2010 at 10:16 am | Posted in Eternity | 8 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

If you were to disregard the Bible, and base what you believe about Christianity solely on what you heard from television preachers, and from those involved in “healing ministries,” “deliverance ministries,” and “signs, wonders, and miracles ministries,” you would almost have to believe that God’s favorite word is “anointing.”

We hear about “the anointing” on singers, “the anointing” on preachers, and “the anointing” on faith healers. I once even heard that a really good cook had a special “rice and gravy anointing.” Another person told me that they knew “the anointing” was upon us, because he had chill bumps from the top of his head to the bottom of his feet. (Maybe I’m too skeptical, but I did happen to glance at the thermostat, and it was set on 64 at the time.)

It may surprise you to learn that the word “anointing” is almost always used in the Old Testament in connection with the pouring of oil on someone or something. It is used in a very literal way. It may surprise you even more to learn that the word “anointing” is used only three times in the entire New Testament. In James 5:14 it is used to mean the literal application of oil to a person, like in the Old Testament. It appears twice in I John 2:27, and there, in a stark exception, it is used to refer to a grant of special spiritual power from God to men: “But the anointing which ye have received of him abideth in you, and ye need not that any man teach you: but as the same anointing teacheth you of all things, and is truth, and is no lie, and even as it hath taught you, ye shall abide in him.”

The Greek word in I John Chapter 2, which is translated as “anointing” in Verse 27, and as “unction” in Verse 20, is chrisma, and is found nowhere else in the Bible. Therefore, it is strange to think it has become such a watchword in modern-day evangelicalism.

We are tempted to think that the over-use of the concept of “the anointing” as a description for the way in which God may capriciously send greater measures of His power upon His servants was concocted as a way to explain our deficiencies in the times when we fail to have an emotional response to His presence in our lives. “The Lord really spoke to me today – it must have been ‘the anointing.’” Or, “I didn’t hear from God today, but it wasn’t my fault; He just didn’t send ‘the anointing.’” “The anointing” has become our great spiritual cop-out. I most certainly need God’s power if I am going to get the victory over habitual sin or minister in any way to the glory of God, but it would be ludicrous for me to believe that this power is going to be magically imparted to me by some “anointed” Christian, while I am grieving God’s very Spirit Who resides within me on a daily basis.

I John 2:27 says that if I am truly a Christian, then God anointed me with His Spirit at the moment of salvation. This “anointing” abides with me. It stays with me permanently. I can no more lose the “anointing” of the Holy Spirit than I can lose God’s gift of salvation. The question is not whether I will receive “the anointing” under some mystical circumstances, so I can operate in “my” gifts. The question is whether I will yield to God’s Spirit, which He has already given me, and surrender my will to His, and obediently allow His gifts to be exercised through me, so that He is glorified.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Security Does Not Have an Expiration Date (I Peter) The Legend of the Unsaved Christian (II Peter) The Everlasting Anointing (I John) The Things that Will Last (II John) Eternal Infamy vs. Eternal Honor (III […]

  2. […] – given a special commission. Let’s not waste time waiting around to receive our special “anointing.” God can find me wherever I am. I need to be busy taking the Gospel everywhere and reminding […]

  3. […] Christians can experience great power through the in-dwelling presence of the Holy Ghost. He can empower us in ministry, in prayer, in understanding the Bible, in preaching the Truth, and in forgiving and […]

  4. […] Warning Sign #8: Regularly Scheduled Miracles March 28, 2011 at 2:45 pm | Posted in When Good Preachers Go Bad | Leave a Comment Tags: 1 Timothy 5, anointed, anointing of favor, anointing of increase, anointings, Apostle Paul, Bapticostals, Benny Hinn, charismania, charismatic theology, dreams and visions anointing, faith healers, faith healing, financial anointing, going Pentecostal, good preachers go bad, harvest anointing, healing anointing, Hebrews 11, lesser anointings, miracle workers, miracle working, miracle working anointing, miracles, preaching anointing, prosperity Gospel, prosperity preachers, prosperity preaching, prosperity teaching, regularly scheduled miracles, Ron Phillips, sowing seeds, sowing seeds of faith, speaking in tongues, suffering for Christ, TBN, Timothy, vision retreat, weekend of miracles, Word Faith, Word Faith movement, Word of Faith, Word of Faith Movement If your pastor is in the transitional phase of crossing over into the “word of faith” or “prosperity gospel” movements, you may want to consider getting him a notebook for his birthday or pastor appreciation day. I know that does not sound like a very special gift, but it can come in really handy. Just make sure it is fairly thick. He’s going need it to be able to write down and keep up with all his different “anointings.” […]

  5. […] filled with the Spirit is not a matter of finding where the Spirit is and hoping to be filled with Him. It is a matter of emptying out of self, vanity, and worldly, fleshly junk – so that He fills […]

  6. […] denominations this dissatisfaction manifests itself in the never-ending quest for “fresh anointings.” For others, it expresses itself in a desire for a new job, a new home, a new hobby, a new […]

  7. […] the prevalence of “deliverance” ministries in the modern church, and the ubiquity of “seeker-sensitive” ecclesiology in recent […]

  8. […] Once again, the obvious answer is no, although this is very much overlooked by some Pentecostals and Charismatics who make speaking in tongues a test of salvation or a measuring stick for Holy Spirit-anointing. […]


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

