I’m Just Sayin’ 6

July 15, 2011 at 9:48 am | Posted in I'm Just Sayin' | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

I know next to nothing about cooking, but, I’m just sayin’, the custardy desert called flan is some GOOD stuff! Actually, it may not be universally good – I’ve only had it a handful of times – but the flan at a restaurant called Rio Mar in New Orleans is definitely one of the best things I’ve ever put in my mouth.

I don’t normally write about food on this blog, and I’m certainly not getting paid to promote a restaurant, but let me tell you, if you ever get the chance, go there and order it. In fact, skip the appetizer, salad, and entree’, and just order about eight orders of the flan – it’s that good.

I do not know what’s in it or how it’s made, and I don’t wanna know! I have a vague idea that maybe it’s a Spanish desert, but, I’m just sayin’, it’s probably a good thing that I don’t live in Spain. If this is what they have for desert over there, I would easily be the world’s fattest Spaniard. In fact, I would change my name to “The Flaniard.” I’m just sayin’.

UPDATE: Rio Mar closed at the end of July, 2014. A day of mourning for flan lovers everywhere.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] intentionally remembering to eat – but we usually find that, when the day is over, we have done plenty of it. That ye put off concerning the former conversation the old man, which is corrupt according to the […]

  2. […] How does it taste? Some food tastes good, so obviously it is enjoyable to eat. Some food tastes bad, but it’s still good for you. There are passages of Scripture […]

  3. […] we’re going to eat the rest of it, we’re being judgmental. We think, “This tastes good, but how fattening is it?” Or, “If I eat this and this, I’ll be too full to eat […]

  4. […] It’s somewhat of a cliche’ to say, “Sometimes we just need to be reminded.” But it is true that sometimes the simplest things are the easiest to forget. We forget we are breathing – but we don’t forget to breathe. We don’t spend a lot of time intentionally remembering to eat – but we usually find that, when the day is over, we have done plenty of it. […]

  5. […] outside a restaurant for a table to become available, but I am willing to endure it if the food is delicious enough when it is finally served to […]


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

