I’m Just Sayin’ 7

August 26, 2011 at 10:26 am | Posted in I'm Just Sayin' | 9 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

There are a lot of things to like about living in South Louisiana, but, I’m just sayin’, the weather in the summertime ain’t necessarily one of them.

I lived in North Louisiana for the first 18 years of my life and when I moved to Baton Rouge, I really thought I was moving to “Cajun Country.” Since then, I’ve learned that Baton Rouge maybe isn’t so “cajun” after all – at least compared to places with names like “Cutoff” and “Hackberry” and a lot of others places that end in “x.” But one thing I learned did not change: the weather in the summer. I have learned that summers in South Louisiana consist of three consistent features: extreme heat, afternoon thunderstorms, and super-steamroom-type humidity – with the occasional hurricane thrown in for good measure.

If this type of weather has become expected and obvious to me, why is it still such a shocker to so many others? A few days without rain and you are panicking? Settle down, it’s South Louisiana. It will rain again – I promise. And plenty of it! Storming every afternoon at 3:00? Relax, enjoy the change in temperature from 98 to 91 for a few hours.

According to my Bible, God is the One Who controls the weather (see Nahum 1:3-5 and Mark 4:37-39) – even here in South Louisiana – so, I’m just sayin’, it seems a little presumptuous and critical and ungrateful to complain about the type of weather He’s choosing to send us. We do believe that He knows best – right?

I do have a helpful suggestion, though. I heard of a family once which had a really bad habit of swearing and using profanity. After they became Christians, they realized that this type of speaking was wrong, but they were having a tough time giving it up. They started something called a “swear jar.” Mom set a big jar on the kitchen counter with a slot in the lid, and every time someone said a bad word, they had to put money in the jar. What I’m thinking is, the next time you state a complaint about too much rain or too little rain or too much heat or stifling humidity or post a comment about it on the internet or grumble about it to your family, friend, or neighbor, go ahead and send me a dollar. It won’t be long until I have enough money to go investigate a place where the climate is almost always temperate and pleasant. It’s called Southern California. I will be there for a few weeks, making detailed notes about the weather for you – at your expense – but I’m sure I’ll bring back a positive report and you can consider moving there yourself so the rest of us won’t have to hear you whine and moan. I’m just sayin’.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] heart! God is in control of the climate and the weather, both in the outside environment, and on the inside of your life. If […]

  2. […] next time you find yourself grumbling and complaining because you think you’ve had a bad day, or because you feel like God’s providence […]

  3. […] friends and relatives, oohing and aahing over the latest baby pictures and commiserating with the complaints about the weather… and suddenly you see it. Someone has shared what looks like an ad from an old-timey magazine […]

  4. […] the least attractive part tree? Did you say the roots? Here in hurricane country it is not at all unusual to see an overturned tree with the roots (formerly buried and out of sight) protruding up out of […]

  5. Hey brother! I spent a lot of my childhood in the Baton Rouge area. Still have family there (Gonzales, Baton Rouge, Baker). I graduated from Istrouma High School more years ago than I care to elaborate on. I’m just sayin’ . . . I was really drawn to your blog, and now I find out you’re located where I grew up. Small world, huh? Anyway, keep up the good work & God bless!

  6. That is cool. Thanks for reading and commenting. I enjoy your blog as well.

  7. […] the Bible evidence is nearly incontrovertible that God is in charge of the weather – even the extreme weather events that we call catastrophes. The only possible support for […]

  8. […] favorable weather, but we also recognize that He knows best, and we joyfully submit to His supreme, perfectly wise will. Otherwise we run the danger of being “spoiled” by this world’s system, […]

  9. […] This task will face its toughest obstacle not in convincing them that He is supreme over the weather, the government, their earthly heroes, us, or even death and the grave. It will be convincing them […]


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

