The Word for Sinners

March 13, 2013 at 8:41 am | Posted in Selected Psalms | 7 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

A good practical method for studying the Bible is to put yourself in the place of the “sinner” in every Bible story. Of course, every person in the Bible was a sinner except for Jesus, but what I mean is, avoid the temptation to compare yourself to Abel, for example. Rather, think about Cain as you study Genesis Chapter 4 and ask yourself, Do I struggle at times with unrighteous anger? Do I have a tendency to worship God the way I like to worship, rather than the way He likes to be worshiped? If two characters in a Bible story are contrasted for obedience and rebellion, see yourself as the rebel and ask God for forgiveness and deliverance. If there are two sinners in a Bible story, picture yourself as both of them (Adam and Eve). If there are a bunch of sinners in a Bible story, picture yourself as all of them (the children of Israel wandering in the wilderness). The Bible helps us to have a teachable spirit.

Blessed art thou, O LORD: teach me thy statutes.

Psalm 119:12

I will meditate in thy precepts, and have respect unto thy ways. I will delight myself in thy statutes: I will not forget thy word.

Psalm 119:15-16 (emphasis added)

Delight leads to love, which leads to meditation, which leads to delight, which leads back to love, which leads to back to meditation. Study a verse with this attitude, and pretty soon you’ll have it memorized!

Open thou mine eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of thy law.

Psalm 119:18

All Christians must be students of the Word.

Thou hast rebuked the proud that are cursed, which do err from thy commandments.

Psalm 119:21

Wandering from the Word takes you into the enemy’s camp.

Remove from me the way of lying: and grant me thy law graciously. I have chosen the way of truth: thy judgments have I laid before me.

Psalm 119:29-30 (emphasis added)

If we don’t walk in God’s Truth, we are walking in the enemy’s deception.

HE. Teach me, O LORD, the way of thy statutes; and I shall keep it unto the end. Give me understanding, and I shall keep thy law; yea, I shall observe it with my whole heart.

Psalm 119:33-34

The purpose of Bible study is to know God better. The Word of God shows us the God of the Word. God speaks to us through His Word. Do you love God? He’s written 66 love letters combined into one big book. If you love Him, you will read it. If you are not listening to God’s Word, you are by default listening to the devil.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. pictures of jesus…

    The Word for Sinners | The Deep End…

  2. […] the previous lesson on Psalm 119 I stated that the purpose of Bible study is to know God better. Martin Luther had a helpful […]

  3. […] from Esau (like the Edomites). Haman is one of the most despicable characters in the Bible. The more you learn about him, the less you like him. At Purim, the Jews have a feast to celebrate the account of […]

  4. […] by God: Turning Your “F”s into “A”s (Part Three) 44. A Word about the Word 45. The Word for Sinners 46. The Bible on Trial 47. Quick Quiz Quietens Questioning Qualms 48. When We Are Tempted to Slam […]

  5. […] I say with the psalmist, I love Your law. We should meditate upon it every day and every night. We know that it is better than our own thoughts. We know that it […]

  6. […] our reason for existing is. A good hermeneutic principle to follow is to picture yourself as the sinner in every Bible story you […]

  7. […] finger to shift the blame, we need to open the mirror of God’s word and point accusingly at the culprit of evil: […]


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

