Catechism Question 13

November 10, 2014 at 2:29 pm | Posted in Children's Bible Catechism, Exodus | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Question 13: Why can’t you see God?
Answer: God is too holy for me to see Him and live.
Prove it.

And he said, Thou canst not see my face: for there shall no man see me, and live.

Exodus 33:20

God’s overwhelming holiness is too great for sinful human beings to look upon His unveiled presence without being supernaturally strengthened. This will be one of the great benefits and blessings for Christians in Heaven. We shall be able to gaze upon our Lord in our glorified state without fear.

Other verses to consider:

God [is] a Spirit: and they that worship him must worship [him] in spirit and in truth.

John 4:24

For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.

I Corinthians 13:12

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] day in Heaven we’ll have face-to-face fellowship with the Lord, but I’m glad I don’t have to wait to have true fellowship with Him. I […]

  2. […] and will shew mercy on whom I will shew mercy. And he said, Thou canst not see my face: for there shall no man see me, and live. And the LORD said, Behold, there is a place by me, and thou shalt stand upon a rock: And it shall […]

  3. […] God’s Unassisted Bookkeeping (Exodus 32:31-35) 57. What Moses Really Wanted from God (Exodus 33) 58. Catechism Question 13 (Exodus 33:20) 59. The Relief and Terror of God’s Presence (Exodus 34) 60. Unveiled Glory and […]

  4. […] God is so holy that no man can see Him and live. However, if we are doing our job as parents, our children should have burning desire to see God – to “behold His beauty” – to “enquire” of Him and to ask Him otherwise unanswerable questions. In teaching and preaching the Gospel to your children, tell them that God DOES want them to see Him – and look what great lengths He has gone to, to make it happen! […]

  5. […] Question 13: Why can’t you see God?Answer: God is too holy for me to see Him and live.Prove it.Exo… […]


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

