Two Thrones

May 16, 2016 at 1:37 pm | Posted in Hebrews | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Years ago I read a quote that I really liked, and I jotted it down: “God has two thrones – one in the highest Heaven, and one in the humblest heart.” The problem is that I forgot to write down who said it, or where I read it. My best guess is that it is somewhere in a collection of volumes I have – compiled by Warren Wiersbe – of famous sermons by famous preachers on different topics. However, I haven’t been able to relocate it, so I can’t be certain of giving credit to who said it, although I have seen it attributed “on the internet” (a dubious source at best!) to D.L. Moody.

In any event, I think of that quote often. First, I think about the amazing and fearful idea that the almighty, sovereign Creator and Lord of the universe would deign to take up residence on the petty little throne of my insignificant and obscure heart. What a simultaneously humbling and encouraging thought! And what a stark and convicting reminder of how often and how treacherously I am guilty of trying to weasel my way back onto that throne after I have supposedly ceded it completely to its rightful Owner and King!

God reigneth over the heathen: God sitteth upon the throne of his holiness.

Psalm 47:8

Second, I think of just how high the throne of the highest Heaven must be, and just how mighty must a King have to be Who would ascend to this throne. A well-known (and increasingly criticized and even ridiculed) evangelical plea says that we need to “ask Jesus into our hearts.” Regardless of the theological accuracy of the wording, the idea is astounding, for this Jesus on Whom we must call for our eternal salvation did Himself once ascend to the throne of the highest Heaven – as God, yes – but also truly as a man. Being an immutable being, if He has indeed “come into” my heart, and is indeed seated on the throne there, He must rule with the same authority invested in His Father’s throne on high. How dare I, mere creature, guilty of abominable and despicable treason, taint the holiness of His throne room or the air around the righteousness of His scepter with vanity or sin? What an exhortation to love, fear, obey, and live for Jesus!

But unto the Son he saith, Thy throne, O God, is for ever and ever: a sceptre of righteousness is the sceptre of thy kingdom.

Hebrews 1:8

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] 29. Two Thrones (Psalm 47:8) 30. Clean and New 31. You the Man! 32. Catechism Question 6 33. The Lord’s Laundry 34. God Versus a Mud Puddle 35. Prayer, Protection, Praise, and Posture 36. From Garbage to Glory 37. Do the Righteous Really Suffer? 38. The Importance of Going to Church 39. Evil Angels  […]

  2. […] Winning the Argument that Christ Is Better (Hebrews 1) 2. Two Thrones (Hebrews 1:8) 3. The Certainty of Christ’s Deity (Hebrews 1:10-13) 4. Don’t Let […]

  3. […] were astonished when Jesus taught, because of His authority. He was Truth personified. He didn’t need to quote other teachers, and when He quoted Scripture, […]

  4. […] are you going in the same wrong direction over and over? –Heart, who is really seated on your throne? Is it me or is it our […]


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

