Bondage, Biting, Bragging, and Beating

February 28, 2022 at 12:36 pm | Posted in II Corinthians | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

I say again, let no man think me a fool; if otherwise, yet as a fool receive me, that I may boast myself a little. That which I speak, I speak it not after the Lord, but as it were foolishly, in this confidence of boasting. Seeing that many glory after the flesh, I will glory also. For ye suffer fools gladly, seeing ye yourselves are wise.

II Corinthians 11:16-19

Since, in their so-called “wisdom,” they had decided to follow fools, the Apostle Paul reasoned that perhaps he would have to speak like a fool in order to get the attention of the Corinthian Christians.

For ye suffer, if a man bring you into bondage, if a man devour you, if a man take of you, if a man exalt himself, if a man smite you on the face.

II Corinthians 11:20

When someone becomes influential in church and begins to lead people into confusion or rebellion against God’s ordained authority, these are the types of things they typically promote, or the types of poison fruit resulting from their influence:

1. Bondage: Works-righteousness or legalism that says you must conform to a man-made standard that goes beyond or against Scripture.

2. Devour: They take advantage of people financially, or they use them (“eat them up”) for personal gain.

3. Take of You: Today we might say “take you in” – the idea of setting a baited trap or catching fish with a lure. They use outwardly attractive ideas or words, and then get people hooked.

4. Self-Exaltation: Beware of those who seek much honor for themselves in contrast to honor for Christ.

5. Smiting: Physical and perhaps emotional bullying and intimidation.

I speak as concerning reproach, as though we had been weak. Howbeit whereinsoever any is bold, (I speak foolishly,) I am bold also.  Are they Hebrews? so am I. Are they Israelites? so am I. Are they the seed of Abraham? so am I.

II Corinthians 11:21-22

Paul was an Israelite – a descendant of Abraham – by his nationality, but also spiritually and prophetically.

Are they ministers of Christ? (I speak as a fool) I am more; in labours more abundant, in stripes above measure, in prisons more frequent, in deaths oft.

II Corinthians 11:23

The answer to the question, “Are they ministers of Christ?” was no, they are ministers of the devil.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Prayers for Howling, Healing, and Hiding (James 5) 99. Strong Stable Standing (I Thessalonians 3) 100. Bondage, Biting, and Beating (II Corinthians […]

  2. […] listing and defending his own credentials, letting the Corinthian Christians know that this “glorying” was not for the sake of vanity, but for the love he had for them, the Apostle Paul pointed […]

  3. […] in this confidence of boasting. Seeing that many glory after the flesh, I will glory also. For ye suffer fools gladly, seeing ye yourselves are […]

  4. […] 36. Take the Good with the Bad (10:5) 37. Think Again (10:7) 38. With Whom Will You Bear? (11:1-19) 39. Bondage, Biting, Bragging, and Beating (11:16-23) 40. The Apostle Who Came Back from Heaven (12:1-10) 41. A Child’s View of […]

  5. […] comes next is similar to something we see in II Corinthians, where Paul felt the need – almost against his […]


Leave a comment


Entries and comments feeds.