I’m Just Sayin’ 11

October 6, 2016 at 2:37 pm | Posted in I'm Just Sayin' | 10 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Much of what we think and much of what we say is dictated by what we feel, but, I’m just sayin’, there is a difference between thinking and feeling.

This is a an accurate use of the word “feel:”
“I feel cold.”
“Me, too, let’s put on our jackets.”

This is not:
“I feel like we sent those client letters out last week.”

No. No, you don’t “feel” like it. You may think it. You may even remember doing it, or you may not be sure, but you don’t “feel” like it.

The “like” of ten years ago – “I’m going to, like, scream. We’ve been waiting, like, all day” – is the “feeling” of today. “I feel like I’m going to scream because I feel like we’ve been waiting here all day.”

feelings

It’s annoying, yes, but, I’m just sayin’, it is a speech habit that has also pervaded our thinking, and it’s starting to be taken literally. I’m convinced it’s either part of the reason – or a symptom of – the perceived superiority of feelings over reality in our culture. So, we have boys who “feel” like they belong in the girls’ restroom. We have perverts who justify their sin by saying, “It can’t be wrong if it’s really how I feel.”

If you need to express your feelings, go for it. But, I’m just sayin’, you need to differentiate those feelings from your fact-based opinions, and, certainly, from objective reality.

feel-like-cleaning

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Last time, I discussed the problem with teaching Bible stories to children as though they are fables. Now we will see another concern that surfaces in many children’s Bible lessons: the emphasis on feelings. […]

  2. […] yourself grumbling and complaining because you think you’ve had a bad day, or because you feel like God’s providence hasn’t been especially “fair” to you that day, try going […]

  3. […] sounds like freedom, and it may feel that way at times, but we are not to be regulated by our feelings. We are to be regulated by the Word of God and our commitments and covenant […]

  4. […] took away my joy… If I could just find somebody to give me an emotional experience to make me feel better – somebody to laugh or cry with me… I need to feel something […]

  5. […] what is known as “postmodernism” and it has become very common for people to horribly confuse “preferences” with “truth.” However, there is such a thing as absolute truth. If you love someone who is in danger, you […]

  6. […] Sayin’ 9 (go ahead and judge me) I’m Just Sayin’ 10 (talking to your problems) I’m Just Sayin’ 11 (I feel like) I’m Just Sayin’ 12 […]

  7. […] Jeremiah was bold and vengeful in making this insult to Pashur, but now we find him alone with God again, swept up in his emotions, hurting and humiliated, and dangerously challenging God. Most commentaries at this point refer to the “sensitive nature” of Jeremiah, but, although he WAS very emotional, and even prone to violent mood swings, he lived ABOVE his moods, riding them out rather than sinking down and letting them carry him away. He still obeyed. He still did his duty – despite his FEELINGS. People like this are some of the people I admire most in ministry. They are not necessarily gifted preachers or charismatic leaders, or even generous givers, or people with special gifts for reaching out to help those who are hurting. But they are the ones that persevere – regardless of how they FEEL. […]

  8. […] are some of the reasons that you’ve heard as to why they walked away from church? Perhaps their feelings were hurt by the real or perceived bad behavior of a church member or leader. Perhaps they […]

  9. […] turning, and spiritually turning with half a heart is not really turning either. I don’t think feelings should be our guide for progressing or regressing in the Christian life, but we do need to […]

  10. […] “You don’t know what you’re talking about,” they say. “I don’t feel guilty at all about what I’ve done or what I’m […]


Leave a comment


Entries and comments feeds.