I’m Just Sayin’ 8

October 3, 2011 at 10:25 am | Posted in I'm Just Sayin' | 13 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

I understand the importance of showing that God made Eve specifically for Adam, and that God intends for wives to be helpers to their husbands.

And the LORD God said, It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him an help meet for him.

Genesis 2:18

But, I’m just sayin’, Eve’s proper title was not “Help-Meet,” nor should we refer to wives today as “helpmates.” I love the King James Version of the Bible, but we don’t always talk today the same way they did in Elizabethan England. The only time I say “Help – meat!” is when I’m starving and my wife hasn’t had time to cook in a couple of days.

When the Bible says that Eve was a “help meet” for Adam, what it means is that she was a “helper who was meet” for him. In other words, she was a helper who was “perfectly suited” for him or a “helper who was a perfect fit” for his needs. (By the way, I’m just sayin’, there is no shame in being a helper. My wife likes to point out that a “helper” is someone you turn to when you can’t do something on your own.)

When you go to a restaurant and experience a delicious meal, you might send your compliments to the chef by telling him that it was a “meal fit for a king.” If so, you wouldn’t shorten the expression and begin calling your favorite dishes “mealfits” or “mealmates.” So let’s refrain from doing the same thing with the expression “help meet for him.” I’m just sayin’.

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] see the wisdom of God in creating for Adam a “helper.” My wife says that this proves Eve was smarter than Adam, because a “helper” is […]

  2. […] “help meet” is what we would call a “helper who is a perfect fit” or “a helper who is perfectly […]

  3. […] the LORD God said, It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him an help meet for […]

  4. […] actually follow a set of instructions, so we are a good example of the wife-helper who is “meet” for the husband. I’m just not good at non-abstract concepts, I guess, and I’m […]

  5. […] 11. I’m Just Sayin’ 8 (Genesis 2:18) 12. The Marriage Curse * 13. Desire in Marriage 14. A Designer Marriage 15. A Marriage of Flesh and Bones 16. Whose Idea WAS this Marriage? 17. The POV of Marriage 18. Marriage: The Long and the Short of It 19. Regaining What Was Lost in Marriage 20. The Problem of Shame in Marriage 21. The Solution to the Problem of Shame in Marriage 22. Suffering in Marriage 23. LONGsuffering in Marriage 24. Be Kind to Your Spouse 25. Objections to Being Kind to Your Spouse 26. Jump-Starting Your Marriage 27. Performing a Biopsy on Your Marriage 28. Getting the Puffiness Out of Your Marriage 29. More Testing for Puffiness in Your Marriage 30. A C.A.L.M. and Courteous Marriage 31. A C.A.L.M. and Accommodating Marriage 32. A C.A.L.M. and Longsuffering Marriage 33. A C.A.L.M. and Merciful Marriage 34. The Right Kind of Rejoicing in Marriage 35. Fooling Around with Celibacy in Marriage 36. Having a F.I.N.E. Marriage 37. Getting Busy in Marriage 38. Smart Phones and Marriage 39. Marital Espionage 40. A Concupiscible Marriage 41. How Whack-A-Mole Can Help Your Marriage 42. Imagination in Marriage 43. Guarding the Top of the Wall in Marriage 44. An Irascible Marriage 45. A Courageous Marriage 46. A Confident Marriage 47. The Lord’s Love Song 48. A Not-So-Amazing Marriage 49. Inhabiting and Investigating Your Marriage 50. Influence, Intercession, and Inheritance in Marriage 51. Seven Marriage Resolutions 52. Be a Friend to Your S.P.O.U.S.E. 53. Going Beyond Fairy Tale Marriage 54. An Illustrative Marriage 55. Why Is Marriage So Honorable? […]

  6. […] first Adam had the benefit of a helper. Admittedly, Eve proved more of a hindrance than a help, but she still provided human […]

  7. […] World’s First History Book 5. Where to Find Yourself 6. The Devil’s Math (Genesis 2-3) 7. I’m Just Sayin’ 8 (Genesis 2:18) 8. The Founding Father 9. A Fake in the Grass 10. You Can’t Get Blood from a […]

  8. […] the LORD God said, It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him an help meet for […]

  9. […] I’m Just Sayin’ 6 (flan) I’m Just Sayin’ 7 (complaining about the weather) I’m Just Sayin’ 8 (help meet) * I’m Just Sayin’ 9 (go ahead and judge me) I’m Just Sayin’ 10 […]

  10. […] wives, He used the expression “an help meet for [husbands]” and some time later people got confused about this concept and starting calling wives “helpmeets” and “helpmates.” What He was really saying was that […]

  11. […] the Lord God said, It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him an help meet for […]

  12. […] is another indicative. Virtuous helpers help make the home a pleasant place to spend time. Wives need to be especially careful when it […]

  13. […] be helpers, but not just any old helper; not a gofer or a flunky or a slave or an employee, but a perfectly suited helper; a complementary helper specifically designed to partner with her husband. Because without her he […]


Leave a comment


Entries and comments feeds.